About San Diego Oasis

San Diego Oasis is a unique educational program for adults 50+ who want to continue to learn and be productive throughout life. Membership is free and open to anyone 50 or older. Join Oasis and enjoy stimulating classes and opportunities to serve your community.

Simona Valanciute, President and CEO

The mission of San Diego Oasis is to promote healthy aging through lifelong learning, active lifestyles and volunteer engagement. We seek to positively impact their lives through partnerships to share knowledge, offer evidence- and research-based programs, conduct evaluations and adapt to meet the needs of diverse audiences. Our approach includes the following key areas:

  • Lifelong Learning
  • Health and Wellness
  • Community Involvement through intergenerational programs

Our team is thrilled to present to you our current online offerings. You will find exciting opportunities to participate in classes, lectures, discussion groups, performances, trips, off-site adventures, and mentoring children in our community through our intergenerational tutoring program.

Our Awards

Our Team

2023: CSO50 Award Winner for AI Edge Security and Thought Leadership

2022: Simona Valanciute selected one of the Most Influential People in San Diego, San Diego Business Journal

2022: Generations United’s Program of Merit for “Generations Together” Intergenerational Summer Camp

2020: Public Health Champion award by the County of San Diego’s Covid19 Leadership.

2019: Two Impact Awards: by the North San Diego Business Chamber and the Escondido Chamber.

2018: NBC Universal Project Innovation Award for Technology Efforts with Older Adults.

2017: Oasis Intergenerational Tutoring named Program of Distinction by Generations United, a prestigious national award.

2016: Excellence Award by KUSI and Torrey Pines Bank, Breaking Away Excellence Award.

2014: Charity Navigator: 4 stars out of 4 stars. Our sound fiscal management practices and commitment to accountability and transparency have earned us a 4-star rating from Charity Navigator, America’s largest independent charity evaluator.

2013: Gloria Cavanaugh Award for Excellence in Training and Education is given by American Society on Aging (ASA) to organizations with significant and long-term contributions to the field which have created visibility for exemplary training and educational efforts. ASA also requires that training, education or staff development must be accurate, current, culturally appropriate and comprehensive.

2012: Social Impact 100 Index (S&I 100). Due to our focus on evidence-based programs and our track record of delivering results, OASIS was named to the S&I 100, a list of the top 100 nonprofit organizations in the United States that have broad social impact and deliver results.

Development & Operations

Simona Valanciute | President and CEO
Michael Craig | Chief Operating Officer
Jolyn Parker | Consultant
Cindy Friedenberg | Controller
Beatrice Ricart | Staff Accountant

Program Support Staff

David Beevers | Digital Divide Program Manager
Monserrat Callejas | Technology Learning Specialist
Michelle Irby | Intergenerational Tutor Program Manager

La Mesa Staff

Kris Anelli | Office & Volunteer Director
Brandon Harding | Director of Lifelong Learning

Rancho Bernardo Staff

Judy Applebaum | Lifelong Learning Manager
Danny Beers | Office & Volunteer Manager
Christine Yoakley | Events Manager

Click a name to email us.

Meet Our Board Members

Julie Derry
Board Chair

Julie Derry

Mark Allan
Board Vice Chair

Mark Allan

Michael D. Bardin

Michael D Bardin

Jonathan E. Doering

Jonathon Doering

David Chong
Governance Chair

David Chong

Krishna Arora
Board Chair Emeritus

Krishna Arora

Sue Bradham
Board Member

Sue Bradham

Frank Hoffstadt
Board Member

Frank Hoffstadt

Danielle Kyd
Board Member

Danielle Kyd

Judy Lewis, PhD
Board Member

Judy Lewis

Tracey Stotz
Board Member

Tracey Stotz-Web

Paul Weiss, PhD
Board Member

Paul Weiss

William H. Wise
Board Member

Judge Bill Wise

Our Advisory Board

Don Ambrose
Sister Mary Jo Anderson
Michelle Candland
Ken Druck, PhD
Peg Eddy

Henry George
Bob Kelly
Maureen King
Jordan Z. Marks, Esq.
Mark Riedy, PhD
Drew Schlosberg

Ellen Schmeding
Alejandra Sotelo-Solis
Deborah Szekely
Charles Van Vechten
William York